Best Mattress for Big and Tall Sleepers

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

As a larger, taller guy, I have often struggled to find a mattress that can accommodate my larger size. When I watch most mattress ads, they are advertising to average-weight, average-height people. What about the rest of us?

That’s why I thought it was my job, no, my duty, to find the best mattresses for big and tall sleepers. I’ve compiled a list of my top ten picks. If you’re a larger person in search of a great mattress, we’ve got you covered!

Our Top Picks

Our top Best Mattresses for Big and Tall are:

Editor's Pick

Helix Plus Mattress

The Helix PLUS is a supportive hybrid that could be a great match for heavier sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Helix Plus Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Editor's Pick

Helix Plus Mattress

The Helix PLUS is a supportive hybrid that could be a great match for heavier sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Helix Plus Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Editor's Pick

Helix Plus Mattress

The Helix PLUS is a supportive hybrid that could be a great match for heavier sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Helix Plus Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

If you have absolutely no idea what mattress is right for you, Helix is always a great place to start. They offer a wide range of mattresses, from the soft Helix Sunset to the firm Helix Dawn. Big and tall sleepers are going to absolutely love the Helix Plus, the company’s mattress designed with them in mind. It boasts high-density gel memory foam that is meant to offer comfort for larger bodies without sagging under that added weight. In addition, Helix Plus’s support layer contains extra-tall coils that are rated to support heavier bodies. All-in-all, big and tall people will find a lot to love about the Helix Plus!

What Makes The Helix Plus Stand Out?

  • The Helix Plus is designed to accommodate big and tall bodies.
  • The mattress features cooling materials such as gel infusions and airflow-promoting coils.
  • Its balance of comfort and support makes the Helix Plus an ideal mattress for back pain.

Read the full Helix Plus mattress review

Best Pillow Top Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Pillow Top Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Pillow Top Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pillow top mattresses can be a great pick for big and tall sleepers. A great pillow top mattress can offer the support of coils and the comfort of a plush top. One of the best pillow top mattresses for big and tall people is the DreamCloud Premier mattress. It features individually-wrapped coils that should be able to handle those heavier weights. The pillow top contains multiple layers of foam and comfort material plus a soft, luxurious cashmere cover. Because of this, the DreamCloud Premier offers some nice pressure relief for big and tall side sleepers.

What Makes The DreamCloud Premier Stand Out?

  • The DreamCloud Premier features a luxurious design but is still quite affordable.
  • The comforting pillow top makes the DreamCloud Premier one of the best orthopedic mattresses.
  • A breathable cover and coils should keep the mattress from trapping too much heat.

Read the full DreamCloud Premier mattress review

Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

WinkBed Plus Mattress

The WinkBeds Plus is a mattress made specifically for larger people, and heavier stomach sleepers should get the support they need on the WinkBeds Plus.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read WinkBed Plus Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

WinkBed Plus Mattress

The WinkBeds Plus is a mattress made specifically for larger people, and heavier stomach sleepers should get the support they need on the WinkBeds Plus.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read WinkBed Plus Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

WinkBed Plus Mattress

The WinkBeds Plus is a mattress made specifically for larger people, and heavier stomach sleepers should get the support they need on the WinkBeds Plus.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read WinkBed Plus Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

No matter your size, if you are a back sleeper, you want to find a mattress with a good blend of comfort and support. For larger people, this means you want coils that can handle your weight and a comfort layer that will relieve pressure without sagging. Well, the WinkBed Plus should have just what big and tall back sleepers are looking for. The WinkBed Plus’s high-density “anti-sag” foam will allow the hips to sink in just the right amount but shouldn’t sag over time. At the same time, the individually-wrapped coil system should also provide the necessary support system. What’s more, zoning in two layers will also offer additional lumbar support for big and tall back sleepers!

What Makes The WinkBed Plus Stand Out?

  • The WinkBed Plus features high-density, durable materials that are meant to fight sagging over time.
  • Zoned latex and coils provide targeted support and comfort in key areas.
  • A Tencel cover, gel infusions, and coils should ensure the mattress breathes, keeping you cool throughout the night.

Read the full WinkBed Plus mattress review 

Best Luxury Mattress

Saatva HD Mattress

The Saatva HD is a supportive mattress made specifically for larger people.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Saatva HD Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress

Saatva HD Mattress

The Saatva HD is a supportive mattress made specifically for larger people.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Saatva HD Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress

Saatva HD Mattress

The Saatva HD is a supportive mattress made specifically for larger people.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Saatva HD Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

Shoppers with an eye for luxury would be smart to consider the Saatva mattresses. Big and tall shoppers can narrow their search to the Saatva HD. The Saatva HD is an innerspring mattress that contains multiple layers of high-quality, durable materials. Just to name a few, it features natural latex, a Euro pillow top, and 12.5 gauge steel coils. What does all this mean? Well, first off, it’s a great match for larger sleepers. Second, it is one of the most luxurious mattresses on this list. Add in hand-tufted finishing and a design similar to what you would find with a high-end hotel mattress and you’ll be sleeping in the lap of luxury.

What Makes The Saatva HD Stand Out?

  • The Saatva HD is a luxury mattress that is surprisingly affordable.
  • The mattress contains durable materials such as natural latex that should not sag under heavier weights.
  • A breathable cover, airflow-promoting coils, and ventilated latex should keep you from sleeping too hot at night.

Read the full Saatva HD mattress review

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Luxe Mattress

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Luxe Hybrid mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Titan Luxe Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Luxe Mattress

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Luxe Hybrid mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Titan Luxe Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Luxe Mattress

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Luxe Hybrid mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Titan Luxe Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

As a larger side sleeper, I know how difficult it is to find the right mattress. Big and tall side sleepers need to choose a mattress that will relieve pressure on their shoulders and hips without letting them bottom out on the mattress. That is why I am such a big fan of the Brooklyn Bedding Titan Luxe Hybrid mattress. The Titan Luxe Hybrid is one of the softest mattresses on this list and contains proprietary TitanFlex Foam, a durable yet pressure-relieving material. Below that, a layer of Energex Foam keeps larger bodies from pushing too far into the mattress. Big and tall sleepers won’t have to worry about support either as extra-supportive TitanCaliber coils hold up their bodies with ease.

What Makes The Titan Luxe Hybrid Stand Out?

  • The Titan Luxe Hybrid offers fantastic pressure relief, making it one of the best mattresses for side sleepers who are big and tall.
  • The mattress contains many cooling materials, but hot sleepers can also opt for an additional cooling panel.
  • Big and tall sleepers who want something firmer can try the Titan Firm Hybrid mattress.
  • Like all Brooklyn Bedding mattresses, the Titan Luxe Hybrid is a great mattress for the money.

Read the full Titan Luxe Hybrid mattress review

Best Cooling Mattress

GhostBed 3D Matrix Mattress

The GhostBed 3D Matrix is an advanced cooling hybrid mattress that is a great option for hot sleepers, back sleepers, and side sleepers over 130 lbs.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read GhostBed 3D Matrix Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress

GhostBed 3D Matrix Mattress

The GhostBed 3D Matrix is an advanced cooling hybrid mattress that is a great option for hot sleepers, back sleepers, and side sleepers over 130 lbs.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read GhostBed 3D Matrix Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress

GhostBed 3D Matrix Mattress

The GhostBed 3D Matrix is an advanced cooling hybrid mattress that is a great option for hot sleepers, back sleepers, and side sleepers over 130 lbs.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read GhostBed 3D Matrix Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Short and small, big and tall — one thing connects sleepers of all sizes: It’s no fun to sleep hot. Big and tall hot sleepers are going to want to take a look at the GhostBed 3D Matrix. It is honestly one of the coolest-sleeping mattresses we have reviewed due to its inclusion of GhostBed’s proprietary 3D Matrix Polymer. This material and a cooling cover make the mattress feel truly cool to the touch and work to draw heat away from the body during the night. At the same time, the GhostBed 3D Matrix is supportive and comfortable enough for big and tall sleepers. Individually-wrapped coils are strong enough to handle heavier weights and the thick gel memory foam provides excellent pressure relief.

What Makes The GhostBed 3D Matrix Stand Out?

  • The mattress boasts advanced cooling materials like GhostIce Cooling Cover and 3D Matrix Polymer.
  • Soft memory foam makes the GhostBed 3D Matrix a great option for side sleepers and couples.
  • Back sleepers will find a great balance of comfort on the GhostBed 3D Matrix.

Read the full GhostBed 3D Matrix mattress review

Best Soft Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Soft Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Soft Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

When big and tall shoppers are looking for a new mattress, they definitely want to keep their firmness preferences in mind. If you are larger and want the best soft mattress, the Nolah Evolution Hybrid mattress could be a great choice. On our firmness scale, we rated the mattress a 6/10, softer-than-average. This softness comes from a combination of Nolah AirFoamIce and high-resilience foam. Both materials make the Nolah Evolution Hybrid feel quite plush on top, offering nice pressure relief for side sleepers. Below the comfort layer, the HDMax Eco Support Coils provide the necessary amount of support for big and tall sleepers. In addition, the coils are zoned and offer even more support under the lumbar area. This should help prevent back pain and generally keep the spine in alignment throughout the night.

What Makes The Nolah Evolution Hybrid Stand Out?

  • The Nolah Evolution Hybrid is designed to be one of the most breathable, coolest-sleeping mattresses on the market.
  • The mattress is a comfortable and supportive option for side sleepers and back sleepers.
  • The Nolah Evolution Hybrid will be a great pick for fans of luxury mattresses.

Read the full Nolah Evolution Hybrid mattress review 

Best Hybrid Mattress

Bear Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Bear Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress

Bear Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Bear Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress

Bear Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Bear Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

If you’re big and tall, hybrid mattresses are a great option because they offer the support of coils and the comfort of foam layers. Out of the many hybrid mattresses we have tried, the Bear Hybrid is one of our favorites. It contains 8″ of coils in the support layer and 2″ of graphite-gel memory foam in the support layer. This design makes the Bear Hybrid a great option for big and tall back sleepers and side sleepers. In addition, big and tall hot sleepers should not be overheating on the Bear Hybrid. The graphite infusion, breathable cover, and coils should keep the mattress from trapping too much heat.

What Makes The Bear Hybrid Stand Out?

  • The Bear Hybrid’s coils should be able to support big and tall sleepers.
  • The mattress is extremely breathable and should be a good option for hot sleepers.
  • The Bear Hybrid should work well for both back and side sleepers.

Read the full Bear Hybrid mattress review 

Best Mattress for Very Heavy Person

Big Fig Mattress

Typically, larger sleepers need a bed that’s firm and won’t sag. Big Fig took this into consideration and built a bed made with durable pocket springs and high density foam.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read Big Fig Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

20-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Very Heavy Person

Big Fig Mattress

Typically, larger sleepers need a bed that’s firm and won’t sag. Big Fig took this into consideration and built a bed made with durable pocket springs and high density foam.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read Big Fig Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

20-year limited warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Very Heavy Person

Big Fig Mattress

Typically, larger sleepers need a bed that’s firm and won’t sag. Big Fig took this into consideration and built a bed made with durable pocket springs and high density foam.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read Big Fig Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

20-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

When we talk about big and tall sleepers, we are usually discussing people who weigh at least over 230 lbs. Those who weigh over 300 lbs should consider a mattress that is created to handle their weight. If you are your partner weighs over 300 lbs, the Big Fig is going to be a great choice. The Big Fig is designed to support up to 1100 lbs. Individually-wrapped coils and multiple layers of high-density foam are combined to hold up larger sleepers without sagging. It is also one of the firmer mattresses on this list, making it a good option for heavier back sleepers and stomach sleepers.

What Makes The Big Fig Stand Out?

  • The Big Fig is rated to handle two sleepers who weigh 550 lbs each.
  • A Thermogel cover and gel-infused latex foam work to keep the mattress and sleepers cool.
  • The Big Fig handles motion transfer well, making it a solid mattress for couples.

Read the full Big Fig mattress review

Best Affordable Mattress for Big and Tall

Allswell Luxe Mattress

The Allswell Luxe is a memory foam hybrid mattress with a great balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read Allswell Luxe Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Affordable Mattress for Big and Tall

Allswell Luxe Mattress

The Allswell Luxe is a memory foam hybrid mattress with a great balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read Allswell Luxe Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Affordable Mattress for Big and Tall

Allswell Luxe Mattress

The Allswell Luxe is a memory foam hybrid mattress with a great balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read Allswell Luxe Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Like all sleepers, big and tall sleepers want to make sure they are getting a good deal when buying a mattress. If your budget is tight and you still need a mattress for larger people, the Allswell Luxe could be the way to go. Allswell has a line of mattresses that are very affordably priced. While it won’t cost you an arm and a leg, it should provide the required support for big and tall sleepers. The support layer features tall, individually-wrapped coils that have no trouble holding up our heavier reviewers. At the same time, multiple layers of soft foam provide a nice amount of comfort right on top of the Allswell Luxe mattress.

What Makes The Allswell Luxe Stand Out?

  • The Allswell Luxe is a supportive, high-quality mattress that is sold for a value price.
  • The mattress is responsive, making it very easy to move around and change positions at night.
  • Its medium firmness makes the Allswell Luxe ideal for back sleepers.

Read the full Allswell Luxe mattress review 

Best Air Mattress For Big And Tall

The mattresses we discussed above are the good old-fashioned kind – springs, foam, the works. Now, what if you’re looking for an air mattress for big and tall guests? What if you are big and tall yourself and need a supportive air mattress for camping? Big and tall sleepers are going to love the AeroBed Air Mattress.

A wide shot of the AeroBed air mattress

This is one of the most deluxe, supportive air mattresses we have come across. It is made with laminated PVC, a very durable material that is meant to prevent popping and air leakage over time. In addition, it is 20 inches tall and boasts both a comfort layer and a support layer. Add in a headboard, and you’ve got one of the most deluxe air mattresses on the market.

How We Test A Mattress For Big And Tall Sleepers

What exactly goes into testing mattresses for big and tall sleepers? Well, first off we make sure our bigger reviewers are actually testing out the mattress. I am 6’7″, weigh 270 lbs, and am definitely a larger person.

The first main step involves testing out the mattress subjectively. When I lie down on the mattress, am I getting the necessary amount of support? Do I feel like I’m dropping through the mattress or am I feeling the support of coils or other materials? I also test out the mattress in multiple sleeping positions to see where I am feeling built-up pressure or discomfort.

The other part of our test is more objective. We employ a pressure map and pressure-reading computer program to test out exactly where I experience pressure on the mattress. Based on the results, we can see exactly where I’m “bunching up” on theBrooklyn Bedding Titan Luxe Pressure Map Reading mattress. If you look at the reading from the Brooklyn Bedding Titan Luxe Hybrid, you can see that there is only green around my shoulders and hips. If there were red on this reading, that would show that I’m feeling too much pressure in that area. This reading supports my experience that the Brooklyn Bedding Titan Luxe Hybrid is a great mattress for big and tall side sleepers.

What Big And Tall Sleepers Should Look For In A Mattress

When you’re shopping for a mattress, there are already so many things you need to consider. You need to think about your sleeping position, budget, feel preferences, and many other factors. If you’re a big and tall sleeper, there are a few specific things you should also think about.

Support

Support is an important factor for all mattress shoppers, but it is even more important for big and tall sleepers. If you are big andmattress support layers tall, you want to first think about your own weight and the weight of your partner. Then, do your research to make sure your prospective mattress will be able to support you. This isn’t always easy to find, but mattresses made specifically for big and tall sleepers often advertise this information. For instance, Big Fig makes it well-known that their mattress can support up to 1100 lbs.

Weight

Consider Size And Weight When Mattress Shopping

Once you find a mattress that can support you, you also want to consider how your specific weight will make the mattress feel to you. For example, a 250 lb side sleeper and 350 lb side sleeper could have a different experience with the same mattress. Mattresses with a soft comfort layer on top may feel softer to a 250 lb sleeper and firmer to a 350 lb sleeper. This is because the 350 lb sleeper might push further into the mattress and feel more pressure. At the same time, a firm mattress like the Big Fig might feel even firmer to the 250 lb sleeper. This is because they might not be heavy enough to really activate and push into the dense layers of the mattress. The 350 lb sleeper will cause those dense layers to collapse correctly, making the mattress actually feel softer.

Mattress Size

Mattress SizesNow, we’re not just talking about weight, but height as well! Believe me, as a taller person, I know the difficulty of finding a mattress that can fit me. My feet have spent more than a few nights dangling off the edge of my mattress. If you are big and tall, you are going to want to stay away from Twin, Twin XL, and Full-size mattresses. You could make it work if you had to, but these sizes are not really made for big and tall folk.

For solo heavier people, a Queen-size mattress could do the trick. However, if you’re over 6’5″, the mattress might not be long enough for you. You might want to opt for a California King-size mattress, which offers some more length. Heavier couples will most likely prefer a King-size mattress. King-size mattresses are wider than California King-size mattresses, giving you and your partner more room to sleep next to one another. If you’re still not sure, check out our mattress size guide.

Overall

Here’s a recap of our best mattresses for big and tall sleepers:

Mattress Superlative
Helix Plus Editor’s Pick
DreamCloud Premier Best Pillow Top Mattress
WinkBeds Plus Best Mattress for Back Sleepers
Saatva HD Best Luxury Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding Titan Luxe Hybrid Best Mattress for Side Sleepers
GhostBed 3D Matrix Best Cooling Mattress
Nolah Evolution Best Soft Mattress
Bear Hybrid Best Hybrid Mattress
Big Fig Best Mattress for Heavy Person
Allswell Luxe Best Affordable Mattress for Big and Tall

FAQs

What is the best mattress for a very heavy person?

There are a number of mattresses that would work well for very heavy people. However, looking at weight limits, the Big Fig is going to be the best choice. It is designed to support up to 1100 lbs, so two people up to 550 lbs each can sleep comfortably.

What firmness is best for heavy side sleepers?

Heavier side sleepers should choose a mattress that feels closer to medium-firm for them. If the mattress is too soft, they might not get the support that they require. If the mattress is too firm, it could cause serious pressure on the shoulders and hips. Heavier side sleepers could go a bit softer than medium-firm but, again, shouldn't go too soft.

What size bed is best for tall people?

Tall people should consider a King-size or California King-size mattress. Solo sleepers who are over 6'5" might want to try a California King as it provides a few more inches of length.

Gravatar for Marten Carlson

Marten Carlson

Marten is Senior Editor at Mattress Clarity. He covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films. He has directed genre short films and features. His newest film, Starlets, recently premiered at the River Town Film Festival in Clinton, NJ. He also stars in the upcoming thriller, Sour Bear. His next film, At The Hop, is a hot rod actioner with a horror twist.