Compare Casper Mattresses: Which Is Best?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

For nearly a decade, Casper has been producing some of the nicest and most popular bed-in-a-box mattresses on the market. But with several models available, choosing the right mattress involves narrowing down your options.

To help shoppers make an informed purchase, we want to compare Casper mattresses. We’ll look at their construction, firmness, and performance to help people choose the right bed. Keep reading this mattress comparison to learn more.

Product
Firmness
Score
Casper Element Mattress
Firm: 8/10
3.6/5
Casper Original Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
3.7/5
Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
3.9/5
Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.1/5
Product
Casper Element Mattress
Firmness
Firm: 8/10
Score
3.6/5
Product
Casper Original Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
3.7/5
Product
Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
3.9/5
Product
Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.1/5

Casper Mattress Comparison: All Models Overview

Some of Casper’s most well-known models include the Casper Element, Casper Original, Casper Nova Hybrid, and Casper Wave Hybrid. We will note that that the Casper Original is available in all-foam and hybrid versions, but we are focusing on the all-foam here.

These four mattresses differ in terms of their firmness, feel, and overall construction. This makes them a better fit for different types of sleepers.

Who Should Get the Casper Element? 

  • Those who want to spend as little on a mattress as possible
  • Teenagers, children, and lightweight adults who don’t require as much support.

Casper Element Mattress

The Casper Element is an affordable, streamlined mattress that should be an excellent fit for lighter sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Casper Element Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Element Mattress

The Casper Element is an affordable, streamlined mattress that should be an excellent fit for lighter sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Casper Element Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Element Mattress

The Casper Element is an affordable, streamlined mattress that should be an excellent fit for lighter sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Casper Element Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review

Who Should Get the Casper Original? 

  • Light- and medium-weight combination sleepers
  • Light- and medium-weight back sleepers who do not need as much support

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Who Should Get the Casper Nova Hybrid?

  • Light- and medium-weight back sleepers who require more lumbar support
  • Light- and medium-weight side sleepers

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

The Casper Nova Hybrid is a high-end, comfortable mattress that should be a good fit for back sleepers and light- and medium-weight side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

The Casper Nova Hybrid is a high-end, comfortable mattress that should be a good fit for back sleepers and light- and medium-weight side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress

The Casper Nova Hybrid is a high-end, comfortable mattress that should be a good fit for back sleepers and light- and medium-weight side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read Casper Nova Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Who Should Get the Casper Wave Hybrid? 

  • Larger people who require more support and more comfort as well
  • Those who want the most durable, advanced Casper mattress available

Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress

The Casper Wave Hybrid is a comfortable option for back sleepers, hot sleepers, and many side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress

The Casper Wave Hybrid is a comfortable option for back sleepers, hot sleepers, and many side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress

The Casper Wave Hybrid is a comfortable option for back sleepers, hot sleepers, and many side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Mattresses Comparison Video

Readers who want to see the Casper mattresses in action should watch our in-depth video comparison; our reviewer, Marten, discusses their construction, his experience, and who should choose each mattress.

 

Casper Mattresses: Top Similarities

Let’s take a look at the significant similarities between these four Casper mattresses:

  • All four mattresses come from Casper, so they have identical warranties, sleep trials, and customer service terms.
  • The Casper Element, Original, Nova Hybrid, and Wave Hybrid all feature AirScape technology to help with cooling and heat dissipation.
  • They all feature some sort of polyfoam on top that is both soft and responsive.
  • Except for the Element, these mattresses all feature Zoned Support somewhere in their construction.

Casper Original Mattress Review

Casper Mattresses: Key Differences

Now, we will discuss the major differences between these four mattresses:

  • They are all different in terms of price – the Element is the most affordable and the Casper Wave is the priciest.
  • The Casper Nova Hybrid and Casper Wave Hybrid feature coils in their support layers, but the Casper Element and Original do not.
  • There are other materials differences – for example, the Wave Hybrid features all-natural latex, and the other three mattresses do not.
  • The Original, Nova Hybrid, and Wave Hybrid all feature different types of Zoned Support.
  • They range in terms of firmness – the Element is the firmest, and the Nova Hybrid and Wave Hybrid are the softest.
  • There are some slight feel differences as well. They are all responsive mattresses with a balanced foam feel, but the Wave Hybrid is just a bit bouncier than the rest.

Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress Review

Firmness and Feel Differences

As we saw above, these four Casper mattresses do have different firmnesses and they differ slightly with regard to feel. Let’s take a closer look at these differences and how it feels to sleep on each mattress. Don’t forget to compare the feel of Casper mattresses to other brands like Loom & Leaf and Puffy.

How Firm Are the Casper Mattresses?

In terms of firmness, the Casper Element feels like an 8/10, firmer-than-average – the top layer is soft, but we easily press through it and feel the firmer support layer beneath.

The Casper Original mattress feels like a 7/10, just a tad firmer than average – with its zoning, the mattress is softer under the shoulder area and firmer under the lumbar area, so we are feeling a balance of comfort and support.

The Casper Nova Hybrid feels like a 6.5/10, about medium in terms of firmness – there are more comfort layers on top and a more advanced form of Zoned Support (Zoned Support Pro). This makes the mattress feel even more supportive when we are back and stomach-sleeping and more pressure-relieving when we are side-sleeping.

The Casper Wave Hybrid also feels like a 6.5/10, about medium-firm – the mattress feels quite plush on top and the advanced zoning (Zoned Support Max) also makes the mattress feel softer under the shoulder area and more supportive under the lumbar area.

We will note that the firmness of these four mattresses will depend on the weight of the specific sleeper. Lighter sleepers might find these mattresses to be firmer as they don’t press in so far, and heavier sleepers might feel like the mattresses are firmer as they press in further than we did.

Sleeping on the Casper Mattresses

Starting on the Casper Element mattress, we are feeling a good balance of comfort and support when we are back-sleeping. Side-sleeping, we are feeling a significant amount of pressure on our shoulders and hips. Stomach-sleeping, the mattress is giving us a decent amount of support under our hips, so we aren’t bowing in there.

Casper Element Mattress - Side Sleeping

Back-sleeping on the Casper, we are feeling a better balance of comfort and support, mostly due to the Zoned Support system in the second layer (it is one of the best mattresses for back sleepers). Side-sleeping, we are feeling a bit of pressure on our shoulders and hips, but less than we felt on the Casper Element. Stomach-sleeping, the Casper Original is not a bad match for us, but primary stomach sleepers might want something more supportive overall.

Casper Mattress - Side Sleeping

On the Casper Nova Hybrid, we are feeling even better support when we are back-sleeping. The more advanced zoning and addition of coils are ensuring we get support and comfort in the right areas. Moving to our sides, the mattress also feels softer than the Element and Original and we are feeling better pressure relief on our shoulders and hips. Stomach-sleeping, we again need more support under our hips, and we are bowing in at our centers.

Casper Nova Hybrid - Back Sleeping

Finally, when we are back-sleeping on the Casper Wave Hybrid, we feel the best balance of comfort and support. Supportive coils and the Zoned Support Max system are giving us excellent, nuanced support and the top layers of high-quality foam are providing good comfort and as well. Side-sleeping, we feel the best pressure relief on the Casper Wave Hybrid, but we are not supported enough when stomach-sleeping.

Casper Wave Hybrid - Back Sleeping

What Do the Casper Mattresses Feel Like?

These four Casper mattresses all feature a balanced foam feel that is both soft and responsive, so it is easy to move around and change positions at night. That being said, the Casper Wave Hybrid is a bit bouncier because it features all-natural latex in its second layer.

Average-Weight Sleepers: 130 lb–230 lb

Back-sleeping, the majority of average-weight people should get a balance of comfort and support on all four mattresses. However, they will get better lumbar support on the Original, Nova Hybrid, and Wave Hybrid.

Side-sleeping, most average-weight people should get enough pressure relief on the Casper Original but, if they are close to 230 lb, they might want to spring for the Nova Hybrid or Wave Hybrid.

Stomach-sleeping, average-weight people should receive enough support on the Casper Element and Casper Original. The Nova Hybrid and Wave Hybrid might feel too soft for stomach-sleeping.

Heavyweight Sleepers: Over 230 lb

Back-sleeping, heavier people should get better support from the Casper Nova and Wave Hybrid, but those who are close to 230 lb might still find the Casper Original to be a good fit.

Side-sleeping, heavier sleepers are going to feel better pressure relief on the Casper Nova Hybrid and Casper Wave Hybrid. Those who are close to 300 lb or more will want to choose the Wave Hybrid over the other models.

Larger people who need the best mattress for stomach sleepers probably won’t get enough support on any of these four mattresses. They will want to find something much firmer and more supportive.

Lightweight Sleepers: Under 130 lb

Lightweight back sleepers should get enough comfort and support from all four mattresses, but the Casper Nova Hybrid and Wave Hybrid might just be too much mattress for them. They don’t really require the coils or extra materials to give them the comfort and support they require while back-sleeping.

Similarly, lightweight side sleepers should get enough pressure relief from the Element and Original. They won’t need the extra layers of the Nova Hybrid and Wave Hybrid to get enough pressure relief.

Stomach-sleeping, lightweight sleepers will like the Element and Original, but the Nova Hybrid and Wave Hybrid might be too soft for them.

Mattress Construction Differences

Now, let’s look inside all four mattresses and see just what they are made of:

Cover

These four mattresses feature similar covers – they are all knit, soft, and stretchy. They are also quite breathable and should allow for air to pass through.

Comfort Layers

The Casper Element features just one comfort layer – it is a soft polyfoam that is responsive and features AirScape technology. This AirScape ventilation promotes airflow through the top layer of the mattress.

Casper Element Mattress Construction And Layers

On top, the Casper Original mattress also features a responsive polyfoam that contains AirScape technology. Below that, there is a layer of memory foam with Zoned Support – basically, it is firmer toward the center of the mattress and firmer toward the head and foot.

Casper Mattress comparison - Construction and Foam Layers

The Casper Nova Hybrid also features, that’s right, responsive polyfoam right with AirScape right on top. Then, there is a layer of Zoned Support similar to what we find in the Casper Original – it is firmer toward the center and also boasts AirScape technology. Below that, there is a layer of memory foam with AirScape technology and more advanced zoning – it is softer and firmer in different areas.

Casper Nova Hybrid - Construction And Foam Layers

The Casper Wave Hybrid also features responsive polyfoam on top with AirScape technology. Below that, there is a layer of natural latex which is dense, bouncy, and features AirScape ventilation. Then, there is a layer of Zoned Support like we see in the Casper Original and Casper Nova Hybrid – it is also ventilated. Finally, there is a layer of polyfoam with very advanced zoning – it features gel pods toward the center to provide extra lumbar support.

Casper Wave Hybrid - Construction

Support Layers

The Casper Element and Casper Original both feature base foam in their support layers. The Casper Original is also available in a hybrid model but, again, we are talking about the all-foam model here.

The Casper Nova Hybrid and Casper Wave Hybrid both feature supportive coils surrounded by a foam encasement.

Mattress Height

The Casper Element is 10″ tall, the Original is 11″ tall, the Nova Hybrid is 12″ tall, and the Wave Hybrid is 13″ tall.

Casper Mattresses Pricing

Now, let’s see how  these four mattresses compare in terms of price:

Twin Twin XL Full Queen King Cal. King
Element $395.00  $445.00 $545.00 $595.00 $795.00 $795.00
Original $995.00  $1145.00 $1233.00 $1495.00 $1945.00 $1945.00
Nova Hybrid $1395.00  $1795.00 $2145.00 $2295.00 $2895.00 $2895.00
Wave Hybrid $1795.00  $2395.00 $2745.00 $2895.00 $3495.00 $3495.00

Casper Mattresses Performance

We tested out the Casper Element, Original, Nova Hybrid, and Wave Hybrid with regard to cooling, durability, and noise – let’s see how they did!

Sleeping Hot or Cold

While these four mattresses all contain AirScape technology to help with cooling and heat dissipation, some will sleep cooler than others. The Casper Original and Casper Element might trap some more heat given that they are all-foam mattresses. The Nova Hybrid and Wave Hybrid feature coils, so they allow so much more room for airflow and shouldn’t trap as much heat.

Motion Transfer

Given that the top layers of these mattresses are so similar, they should be about equal in terms of motion isolation. They should absorb a decent amount of motion so that partners don’t disturb each other when they move around at night.

The Casper Wave Hybrid might not isolate motion as well as the other three as it features latex in its second layer. This material is not so great at cutting down on motion transfer, so partners might disturb each more on the Wave Hybrid.

Casper Wave Hybrid - Firmness And Feel

Edge Support

Out of these four mattresses, the Casper Nova Hybrid and Wave Hybrid feature the best edge support because they feature coils in their support layer. We feel more secure sitting and lying down near the edge of the Nova Hybrid and Wave Hybrid.

That is not to say the Casper Element and Casper Original have bad edge support. On the contrary; we can still lying close to the edge of both mattresses, and we don’t feel too much like we are going to roll off.

Durability

While these are all well-made mattresses, they are going to differ with regard to their durability. The Casper Nova Hybrid and Wave Hybrid should last longer than the others given that they feature coils are generally more substantial mattresses. The Wave Hybrid also features latex, so it should last even longer than the Nova Hybrid.

See our list of the best latex mattresses for more durable options.

Off-gassing

When we took these four mattresses out of their shipping boxes, there was some initial off-gassing, and it was about equal for all four. After 48 hours in a well-ventilated room, all four mattresses lost this smell.

Noise

Moving around on these mattresses, we did not notice any real noises, but the mattresses with coils might start to squeak after years of use.

Sex

Those who need a mattress for sex usually want to choose something that is responsive and makes it easy to move around. These are all responsive mattresses, so they shouldn’t make sexual partners feel trapped in the mattress. Those who need even more bounce can take a look at the Casper Wave Hybrid mattress.

Warranty Info

The Casper mattresses all come with a 100-night sleep trial and a 10-year warranty.

Casper Mattresses FAQs

Now, we would like to answer some of the most frequently asked questions about these four Casper mattresses?

Which Casper mattress is best?

Out of the Casper mattresses, the Wave Hybrid is their most deluxe and high-end. It features latex, high-density foam, and supportive coils. That being said, people can still find support and comfort with the other Casper mattresses.

How much do the Casper mattresses cost?

The Casper mattresses range in price from their most affordable mattress, the Element, up to their most pricey, the Wave Hybrid. For a Queen size, the Element costs $595, the Original costs $1095, the Nova Hybrid costs $1995, and the Wave Hybrid costs $2595.

Which Casper mattress is best for hot sleepers?

The best Casper mattress for hot sleepers will probably be the Wave Hybrid. It features a cooling gel on the top layer, more AirScape ventilation, and coils to promote airflow. It should be the cooler-sleeping mattress.

Are Casper mattresses good?

The Casper mattresses are, in fact, good and should be a good fit for many different types of sleepers. Given that they offer numerous models, there should be something for everyone.

Gravatar for Marten Carlson

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.