Nectar vs Nectar Hybrid Mattress Review – Which Should You Get?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

If you’ve got your sights set on a Nectar Classic mattress, you have one major decision to make – all-foam or hybrid?

My Nectar vs Nectar Hybrid mattress review will go over these beds’ similarities, differences, and help you choose one over the other. Keep reading to find out which Nectar mattress is best for you!

Product
Firmness
Score
Nectar Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.3/5
Nectar Hybrid Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Product
Nectar Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.3/5
Product
Nectar Hybrid Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5

Nectar vs Nectar Hybrid Mattress Overview

Nectar is a brand that is known for its high-quality bed-in-a-box mattresses. For years, Nectar focused on all-foam models but, recently, the brand has forayed into the hybrid mattress game. Because of this, the Nectar Classic, Nectar Premier, and Nectar Premier Copper are all available in all-foam and hybrid models.

The Nectar Classic is the company’s flagship model, and it’s exciting to see a hybrid version of this popular mattress. The inclusion of coils adds a lot to the Nectar Classic Hybrid, but the Nectar Classic all-foam model is still going to work better for certain types of sleepers.

Who Should Get The Nectar Classic?

  • Those who want to save money
  • Lightweight people
  • Those who don’t sleep too hot

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Who Should Get The Nectar Classic Hybrid?

  • Heavy people
  • Those who simply need more support
  • Hot sleepers

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Nectar Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$799 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
/5

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Nectar Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$799 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
/5

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Nectar Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$799 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
/5

Nectar vs Nectar Hybrid Video Comparison

Watch our in-depth video to learn more about the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid mattresses.

YouTube player

 

Similarities Between the Nectar Classic and Nectar Classic Hybrid Mattresses

The Nectar and Nectar Hybrid have more in common than just their name. Here are some of the major similarities between these two mattresses:

  • Both come from Nectar, so they have the same customer service terms, sleep trial, and warranty.
  • They both feature memory foam in their comfort layer.
  • The Nectar and Nectar Hybrid have the same firmness.
  • They both boast a good balance of comfort and support.

A wide shot of the Nectar Classic in a modern bedroom

Key Differences Between the Nectar Classic and Nectar Classic Hybrid Mattresses

While they do have their similarities, the Nectar Classic and Nectar Classic Hybrid are still quite different. Let’s see what sets them apart:

  • The Nectar Classic Hybrid features coils, but the Nectar Classic does not.
  • The Nectar Classic is not as supportive as the Nectar Classic Hybrid.
  • The Nectar Classic Hybrid is more breathable than the Nectar Classic.
  • The Nectar all-foam costs less than the Nectar Hybrid.

A close shot of the Nectar Hybrid Classic logo

Firmness and Feel Differences

A bed’s firmness and feel can let you know whether or not it will work for your situation. Let’s look closely at the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid’s firmness and feel to see which is a better fit for you.

How Firm are the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid Mattresses?

On a scale of 1-10, the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid both scored a 6.5/10, which is the industry standard for medium-firm. Both mattresses feature soft memory foam in their top layers, but their support layers balance it out with some more firmness.

I will note that, while they have the same firmness, the Nectar Hybrid feels like a more supportive mattress. The Nectar Hybrid’s coils did a better job of holding up my body.

Sleeping on the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid Mattresses

The Nectar and Nectar Hybrid were both a great match for me while back sleeping. They are medium-firm mattresses, and this is exactly what back sleepers should be looking for. My hips sank into the memory foam on both mattresses, but I also experienced a good amount of support. As I noted above, the Nectar Hybrid did offer me a bit more support due to its inclusion of individually-wrapped coils.

A man sleeps on his back on the Nectar Classic Hybrid.

While the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid are medium-firm mattresses, they both offered nice pressure relief while I was side sleeping. The comfort layers are thick on these two mattresses, and they do a good job of preventing build-up around my shoulders and hips. However, I weigh 270 lb and usually just sleep on my side, so I still might choose a softer mattress overall.

A man sleeps on his side on the Nectar Classic

Neither the Nectar nor Nectar Hybrid was firm enough for me when I was stomach sleeping. I could feel my hips sinking forward into the mattress, and this took me out of neutral spinal alignment. When you don’t get enough support while stomach sleeping, this could lead to back pain over time. Again, I am a larger person so, if you weigh less, your experience could be different.

What Do the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid Mattresses Feel Like?

The Nectar and Nectar Hybrid exhibit a memory foam feel right on top. Lying down, you should slowly sink into the mattress and feel the memory foam hug your curves.

The Nectar Hybrid does feel a tad bouncier than the Nectar mattress, however. The coils will keep you from sinking in quite so far and make it easier to move around and change positions.

Average Weight Sleepers – 130 lb – 230 lb

Average weight back sleepers should enjoy sleeping on the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid mattresses. If you are in this weight range, you should get the perfect balance of comfort and support on both mattresses.

Side sleeping, both mattresses will be a good fit if you weigh less than 230 lb. You won’t sink too far into the Nectar or Nectar Hybrid, and you should only feel the soft pressure relief of memory foam.

Stomach sleepers in this weight range could get enough support from the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid. If you don’t weigh too much, these medium-firm mattresses should be able to support your hips and center mass.

Heavyweight Sleepers – Over 230 lb

Larger back sleepers should prefer the Nectar Hybrid to the Nectar all-foam mattress. Coils make the Nectar Hybrid more effective at supporting heavier weight. That being said, if you weigh more than 275 lb, you should consider a mattress made for heavy people. Beds like the Saatva HD will offer even more support for larger sleepers.

Heavier side sleepers won’t get the best pressure relief on the Nectar or Nectar Hybrid mattresses. If you are larger and sleep on your side, you could press further into the mattress and bottom out.

Larger stomach sleepers will want to find a much firmer mattress for stomach sleeping. You will not get enough support under your hips, and you may experience some back pain over time.

Lightweight Sleepers – 130 lbs

The Nectar and Nectar Hybrid should work well for lightweight combination sleepers. The mattresses both offer enough support for back and stomach sleeping, as well as good pressure relief for side sleeping.

Mattress Construction Differences

Now, let’s pull back the cover of the Nectar Classic and Nectar Classic Hybrid to see exactly what’s going on inside.

Cover

Both mattresses feature a quilted cooling cover that is breathable and promotes airflow through the top of the mattress. The cover is also designed to draw heat away from your bedding, helping to keep you cool at night.

Comfort Layers

The Nectar Classic and Nectar Classic Hybrid also contain the same comfort layers. They both boast a thick layer of gel-infused memory foam. This is meant to provide contouring and pressure relief. The gel infusion also keeps you from overheating.

A cross-section shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid

The memory foam rests on a Dynamic Response Layer. This is a transition layer of responsive foam that keeps you from sinking too far into the mattress.

A side shot of the Nectar Hybrid

Support Layers

The Nectar Classic mattress features high-density base foam in its support layer. This is much firmer than the comfort layers and has much less give.

The Nectar Classic Hybrid mattress contains individually-wrapped coils instead of base foam. The coils are bouncier and more supportive than base foam and also all for air to flow through the bottom part of the mattress. The coils rest on a thin layer of base foam which prevents the coils from digging into your bed frame or foundation.

Mattress Height

The Nectar and Nectar Hybrid are 12” tall.

Nectar and Nectar Hybrid Size and Price Options

For the most up-to-date Nectar and Nectar Hybrid size and price info, take a look at the following charts.

Nectar 

Size Dimensions Price
Twin 38” x 75” $599.00
Twin XL 38” x 80” $769.00
Full 54” x 75” $899.00
Queen 60” x 80” $999.00
King 76” x 80” $1299.00
California King 72” x 84” $1299.00

Nectar Hybrid 

Size Dimensions Price
Twin 38" x 75" $799.00
Twin XL 38" x 80" $969.00
Full 54" x 75" $1099.00
Queen 60" x 80" $1199.00
King 76" x 80" $1499.00
California King 72" x 84" $1499.00
Product
Firmness
Score
Nectar Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.3/5
Nectar Hybrid Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.5/5
Product
Nectar Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.3/5
Product
Nectar Hybrid Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.5/5

Nectar and Nectar Hybrid Performance Differences

I tested the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid out to see how cooling, responsive, and durable they really are. Let’s see how they performed!

Sleeping Hot or Cold

The Nectar and Nectar Hybrid both contain cooling features such as heat-wicking covers and gel-infused memory foam. They should both prevent you from sleeping extremely hot at night.

However, the Nectar Hybrid should sleep even cooler due to its hybrid design. The coils in its support layer allow for a good amount of airflow. This makes the Nectar a Hybrid more breathable and cooling mattress.

Motion Transfer

If you sleep with a partner, you want a mattress that will cut down on motion transfer. Whenever your partner moves around on their side of the mattress, and you feel that on your side of the mattress, it’s called motion transfer.

Memory foam mattresses are usually very good at isolating this motion, and the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid are no exceptions. They both boast thick memory foam right on top and this absorbed a good deal of motion during my testing. In this respect, both the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid should be good mattresses for couples.

Edge Support

Edge support is also very important for couples. If your mattress has good edge support, you and your partner will be able to sleep toward each edge and get the most surface area possible.

The Nectar Classic Hybrid wins out when it comes to edge support. The coils help reinforce the edge of the Nectar Classic Hybrid and should make you feel more secure when you are sitting and lying down near the edge of the mattress.

A man sits near the edge of the Nectar Classic Hybrid

Durability

Whenever you are looking for a new mattress, you want to ensure you’re making a good investment. If you’re going to spend around $1000 or more, you’ll want your mattress to last more than just a few years.

Based on its construction and materials, the Nectar Classic should last for at least 7 years. The coils make the Nectar Classic Hybrid more durable, and it should last for 10 years or more.

Off-gassing

When you unbox an online mattress, you may notice a slight chemical smell. This is called off-gassing, and it is completely normal.

I experienced some off-gassing with the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid, but the smell dissipated after 48 hours. I recommend leaving any new mattress in a well-ventilated room, and you will be good to go in no time.

Noise

A noisy mattress can make it difficult to get good sleep because each squeak and creak could wake up your or your partner. Thankfully, neither the Nectar nor Nectar Hybrid made any noise when I rolled around and changed positions.

I would just note that hybrid mattresses can make noise after you have had them for a number of years.

Sex

When it’s time to get intimate, a bouncy, responsive mattress is going to be best. This will make it easy to change positions, and you won’t feel stuck in the mattress.

With their slow-moving memory foam, the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid are not the best mattresses for sex. You and your partner might find it difficult to move around. However, the coils make the hybrid slightly better for sex.

Company Policies

Let’s take a closer look at Nectar’s fine print.

Warranty Info

Nectar offers a Forever Warranty with all models.

Sleep Trial

The Nectar and Nectar Hybrid come with a 365-night sleep trial.

Return Policy

You get free shipping and returns with all Nectar products.

FAQs

Which mattress is better, the Nectar or Nectar Hybrid?

The Nectar and Nectar Hybrid are both high-quality mattresses, but they are going to be a better fit for different types of sleepers. The Nectar will work better for lightweight people and those who want to spend less money on their mattress. The Nectar Hybrid will be better for larger people and hot sleepers.

Can you flip the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid mattresses?

No, you cannot flip these two mattresses. If you flip the mattresses, they will not perform well, and you will not get the comfort and support you need.

How long will the Nectar and Nectar Hybrid last?

The Nectar Classic and Nectar Classic Hybrid are both durable mattresses that will last for a good number of years. The all-foam Nectar Classic should last for at least 7 years. The Nectar Classic Hybrid is even more durable and should last for at least 10 years.

Gravatar for Marten Carlson

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.