Lucid Mattress Reviews – A Great Value?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

There’s a common misconception in the mattress industry that affordable equals poor quality. Well, that’s not the case with the budget-friendly mattress options from Lucid. The company offers a wide array of mattresses, and we’ve reviewed two of them to help you decide which affordable option works best for you. In these unbiased Lucid mattress reviews, we’ll tell you everything you need to know, including firmness, feel, construction, and more.

Product
Firmness
Score
Lucid 10″ Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
3.5/5
Lucid Hybrid 12"
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
3.6/5
Product
Lucid 10″ Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
3.5/5
Product
Lucid Hybrid 12"
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
3.6/5

Lucid Mattress Overview

Lucid mattresses aren’t just comfy – they’re kind to your wallet, too. Lucid sells a variety of sleep products, including the Lucid memory foam mattress topper and the Lucid L300 Adjustable Base.

For this review, we’ll focus on two of the Lucid mattresses: the 10″ Gel Memory Foam mattress and the 12″ Hybrid mattress. Note that while the 12″ Hybrid mattress is only available in one firmness option, the 10″ Gel Memory Foam is available in three firmness options: plush, medium, and firm. We specifically reviewed the medium-firm option.

Mattress Who Might Like It? Who Might Not Like It?
10″ Gel Memory Foam Mattress
  • Lightweight sleepers
  • Fans of slow-moving memory foam
  • Folks who want to save money
  • Heavier people
  • Stomach sleepers
  • Hot sleepers
12″ Hybrid Mattress
  • Hot sleepers
  • People who want a great value
  • Back and side sleepers
  • Fans of all-foam mattresses
  • Couples who are concerned about edge support
  • Stomach sleepers

Lucid Mattress Video Reviews

The best way to really understand these mattresses is to see them in action. Check out our video reviews below to learn more!

Lucid Gel Memory Foam

YouTube player

Lucid Hybrid

YouTube player

Lucid Mattress Firmness and Feel

First things first – let’s examine the firmness and feel of each of these mattresses. These are two of the most important elements to consider when shopping for a new mattress, so you don’t want to skim over this!

How Firm Are Each of the Lucid Mattresses?

Mattress Clarity’s firmness scale ranges from 1-10, and 6.5/10 represents medium-firm. This also happens to be the industry standard, and it’s what both of the Lucid mattresses feel like.

The 10″ Lucid Gel Memory Foam mattress has a classic medium-firm feel, making it supportive enough for most people. It’s important to note, however, that this bed will soften as time goes on. If you need something more supportive, opt for the firm model.

Lucid Hybrid 12"

The Lucid Hybrid mattress is a great budget-friendly bed that works well for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Lucid Hybrid 12" Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

30 Nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Average Customer Rating
/5

Lucid Hybrid 12"

The Lucid Hybrid mattress is a great budget-friendly bed that works well for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Lucid Hybrid 12" Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

30 Nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Average Customer Rating
/5

Lucid Hybrid 12"

The Lucid Hybrid mattress is a great budget-friendly bed that works well for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Lucid Hybrid 12" Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

30 Nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Average Customer Rating
/5

With the medium-firmness of the 12″ Hybrid mattress, sleepers will feel plush comfort from the foam layers and sturdy support from the coils. This makes it a versatile mattress that works well for many different body types and sleeping positions.

Lucid 10″ Gel Memory Foam Mattress

The Lucid mattress offers 10 inches of foam for a deep pressure-relieving sleep. The no-fuss construction not only helps to maintain affordability but also highlights benefits such as body contouring and sinkage.

Clarity Score 3.5/5
Read Lucid 10″ Gel Memory Foam Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

30 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Lucid 10″ Gel Memory Foam Mattress

The Lucid mattress offers 10 inches of foam for a deep pressure-relieving sleep. The no-fuss construction not only helps to maintain affordability but also highlights benefits such as body contouring and sinkage.

Clarity Score 3.5/5
Read Lucid 10″ Gel Memory Foam Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

30 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Lucid 10″ Gel Memory Foam Mattress

The Lucid mattress offers 10 inches of foam for a deep pressure-relieving sleep. The no-fuss construction not only helps to maintain affordability but also highlights benefits such as body contouring and sinkage.

Clarity Score 3.5/5
Read Lucid 10″ Gel Memory Foam Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

30 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Sleeping On The Lucid Mattresses

As an average-weight person, I felt supported and comfortable while back and side sleeping on both of the Lucid mattresses. The Lucid Memory Foam mattress has a soft comfort layer and thick support layer, which creates a well-balanced feel, while the thick layers of the comfort foam in the 12″ Hybrid mattress gently contoured my body and relieved pain along pressure points.

Lucid Gel Foam Back Sleeping

The medium-firm option of the memory foam mattress isn’t well suited for most stomach sleepers. In this sleeping position, people need to rest on an especially supportive surface. Otherwise, their hips could sink out of alignment and cause lower back pain. If you rest on your stomach, we recommend ordering Lucid’s firm model. When I rested on top of my stomach on the hybrid mattress, I felt decently supported. However, this mattress isn’t quite firm enough to keep my hips elevated, and it could cause lower back pain as time goes on.

Lucid Hybrid side sleeping

What Do the Lucid Mattresses Feel Like?

If you love that slow-moving memory foam feel, then Lucid 10″ Gel Memory Foam is a great way to go. This bed gently contours the body and offers excellent pressure relief. That said, it is slightly difficult to move around on this mattress. If you prefer to sleep on top of your bed rather than “inside” it, you might want to consider getting Lucid’s hybrid mattress.

The Lucid 12″ Hybrid mattress offers the best of both worlds. The top portion has a lovely slow-moving feel, but thanks to the springy coils underneath, sleepers won’t feel like they’re “sinking” inside of the mattress. If you’re searching for a balanced hybrid feel, this bed fits the bill.

Average Weight Sleepers – 130 lb – 230 lb

If you fall in this weight range, both of these Lucid mattresses could be a good choice. While back and side sleeping, average weight people should feel both comfort and support.

The Gel Memory Foam mattress is a good option for back and side sleepers who weigh between 130 and 180 lb. Those who weigh closer to 180 lb, however, might feel themselves sinking into the top layer quite a bit. This could make the mattress feel firmer and may lead to some muscle pain over time.

While back sleeping, the Lucid Hybrid hugs the curves of the body but still helps keep the spine in the proper alignment. Additionally, the thick comfort layers help relieve pressure along shoulders and hips, which is exactly what you need when you’re resting on your side.

While the mattresses we reviewed could be good options for back and side sleepers, stomach sleepers may want to select something else because neither of these mattresses will provide enough hip support, which could cause pain and tension along the lower back. However, the firm model of the 10″ Gel Memory Foam mattress could work for stomach sleepers as it provides the support needed to keep the hips from sinking out of their natural alignment. For more ideas, check out our list of the best mattresses for stomach sleepers.

Heavyweight Sleepers – Over 230 lb

Overall, the Lucid Memory Foam mattress isn’t a great choice for heavyweight folks. Those who weigh more than 230 lb will sink into the top layer quite a bit, so they won’t get the pressure relief they need. The firm model will provide a bit more support, but even so, we recommend people in this category pick a designated mattress for heavy people.

Heavyweight sleepers who weigh between 230 and 300 lb should feel supported and comfortable while back and side sleeping on the Lucid Hybrid. Those who weigh more than 300 lb, however, might not get the lumbar support they need and should look at one of the best mattresses for heavy people. Stomach sleepers in this category won’t think the Lucid Hybrid is a good match because it isn’t quite firm enough.

Lightweight Sleepers – Under 130 lb

Both the Lucid 10” Gel Memory Foam mattress and the 12″ Hybrid mattress work well for lightweight sleepers. No matter the sleeping position, these mattresses should provide the optimal amount of comfort and support. While back and side sleeping, the cushy comfort layers of each mattress should help protect against joint pain. Stomach sleepers who weigh less than 130 lb won’t compress the top layers too much, so they will still get the hip support they need.  Yes – even lightweight stomach sleepers can rest easy on these beds!

Lucid Mattress Construction

But what are these mattresses made out of, exactly? We’ll break down their construction layer by layer.

Lucid 10″ Gel Memory Foam

  • Mattress Height – The Lucid Memory Foam bed is 10” tall, which is about average for a budget-friendly mattress.
  • Cover – The cover feels thin, stretchy, and breathable. Though not cool-to-the-touch, the cover shouldn’t add any heat to the mattress.
  • Comfort Layers – With two memory foam comfort layers, the Lucid mattress has a classic slow-moving feel. The top layer consists of 3.5” of ventilated gel-infused memory foam, which is meant to help dissipate body heat. Beneath that, you’ll find a 2” transition layer.
  • Support Layer – For support, the Lucid Memory Foam mattress has a 4.5” layer of dense foam. It’s infused with bamboo and charcoal, which helps keep the mattress smelling fresh and clean.

Lucid Gel Foam Mattress - Construction

Lucid 12″ Hybrid

  • Mattress Height – We reviewed the 12” Lucid Hybrid mattress, but it’s also available in a 10” tall model.
  • Cover – The cover feels thin, soft, and breathable. It doesn’t trap body heat, so it’s a great choice for hot sleepers.
  • Comfort Layers – The Lucid Hybrid mattress has two comfort layers. The first one is made of bamboo charcoal-infused memory foam, which feels cushy and slow-moving. Plus, the infusions help keep the mattress feeling cool and smelling fresh. The second comfort layer, made of aloe vera memory foam, offers more support and acts as a transition layer.
  • Support Layer – The support layer consists of individually encased coils, which makes the mattress feel a bit more responsive and bouncy. The coil system also offers lumbar support and promotes airflow.

Lucid Hybrid construction

Lucid Mattress Size Options and Price

Now, on to one of the most important parts – sizing and pricing! Check out our chart below for the most up-to-date information.

Size 10″ Gel Memory Foam Dimensions 10″ Gel Memory Foam Price 12″ Hybrid Dimensions 12″ Hybrid Price
Twin 39" x 75" $240.83 38" x 75" $339.99
Twin XL 39" x 80" $299.00 38" x 80" $359.99
Full 54" x 75" $256.73 54" x 75" $359.99
Queen 60" x 80" $311.25 60" x 80" $499.99
King 76" x 80" $363.99 76" x 80" $629.99
California King 72" x 84" $364.00 72" x 84" $629.99

Looking for another budget-friendly pick? Check out our list of the best mattresses under $500.

Product
Firmness
Score
Lucid 10″ Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
3.5/5
Lucid Hybrid 12"
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
3.6/5
Product
Lucid 10″ Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
3.5/5
Product
Lucid Hybrid 12"
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
3.6/5

Lucid Mattress Performance

How well do these mattresses dissipate heat? Is either of them a good match for couples? Let’s take a look at their performance features to find out.

Sleeping Hot or Cold

The Lucid Gel Memory Foam mattress has many cooling features, so it doesn’t sleep as hot as many others do. That said, this is still an all-foam mattress, and we don’t recommend it for especially hot sleepers. The top foam layer still traps a bit of body heat, so if you already struggle with night sweats, you should consider getting the hybrid option.

The Lucid Hybrid mattress is a great pick for hot sleepers. The bamboo charcoal memory foam helps dissipate body heat, and the coils provide room for airflow. If it’s breathability you’re looking for, this mattress delivers.

Motion Transfer

If you share a bed with a loved one, you know how annoying it is to feel your mattress move when your partner shifts sleeping positions. Fortunately, both the Lucid Memory Foam and the Lucid Hybrid mattresses isolate motion well. Even if your partner starts tossing and turning, you shouldn’t feel that movement transfer over to your side of the bed.

While both mattresses performed well in our motion isolation tests, the memory foam model performed slightly better, receiving a perfect 5/5 performance score. At the end of the day though, both mattresses are great for couples!

Edge Support

Couples may also want to find a mattress with good edge support. If your mattress sags when you sit along the sides, it will force couples to rest closer to the center of the bed.

Unfortunately, edge support isn’t the Lucid memory foam mattress’s strong suit. When we sat along the edge of the mattress, we sank through the top comfort layer.

Similarly, while Lucid reinforced the sides of the hybrid mattress, the edge support isn’t the best. I found myself sinking through the top layers quite a bit, but the coils prevented me from rolling off the bed completely. That said, if edge support is especially important to you, we recommend looking elsewhere.

Lucid Hybrid edge support

RELATED: Best Mattress That Won’t Sag

Durability

The 10″ Lucid Gel Memory Foam mattress performs well, especially for a budget mattress. However, it lacks some of the high-quality materials you’ll find in a luxury bed. For that reason, we don’t expect it to last as long as others on the market. Overall, this mattress should last 5 – 7 years.

The Lucid Hybrid is more durable than the memory foam mattress, thanks to its sturdy encased coil system. We expect it to last 7-10 years.

Off-Gassing

When you unbox a mattress, it’s common to notice a slight chemical smell. The same is true for Lucid. However, after two days, the smell completely faded away for both mattresses. If you want to speed up the process, place the mattress in a well-ventilated room next to an electric fan.

Noise

We didn’t notice any noise when testing either of the Lucid mattresses. The memory foam option doesn’t contain innersprings, so we don’t expect it to create sound as time goes on. However, it’s possible the coils in the hybrid mattress could squeak as the years go on.

Sex

Partners looking for the best mattress for sex usually want something that feels bouncy and responsive so that it’s easy to move around and change positions. If this is a high priority for you, we recommend looking at the Lucid Hybrid mattress. The Lucid memory foam bed may cause some people to feel “stuck” inside the bed, while the Lucid Hybrid is easy to move around on.

Overall Rating

Eager to see how they rank overall? Check out our final tallies below!

Company Policies

Before you make your final purchasing decision, it’s important to check out the company policies. Keep reading to learn more about Lucid’s warranty, sleep trial period, and more.

Warranty Info

Both the Lucid 10” Gel Memory Foam mattress and the 12″ Hybrid mattress are backed by a 10-year limited warranty.

Sleep Trial

Lucid offers a 30-night sleep trial period for their mattresses.

Return Policy

If you’re not happy with your mattress within the first 30 days, you can return it for a refund.

Common Lucid Mattress Complaints

More than 70% of Amazon customers have given the Lucid Gel Memory Foam mattress a five star rating. However, some people had complaints. Most of the time, the negative reviews came from heavier folks. Even on the firmest model, larger people found this mattress didn’t provide enough lumbar support. Other people noted that it’s difficult to move around on this mattress due to the thick layers of memory foam.

About 72% of Amazon reviewers gave the Lucid Hybrid a 5-star rating. Some folks, however, had complaints. Most of the 1-star reviews had to do with the interior components of the mattress. Please note: We do not advise taking off the mattress cover to wash it, and sleeping directly on the foam layer. This could cause skin irritation for some people.

Lucid Gel Memory Foam vs. Lucid Hybrid

Both of these mattresses come from Lucid, so they have several similarities right off the bat. Both have a medium-firm feel, and they are backed by 10-year warranties.

The main difference comes down to feel. The Lucid Memory foam mattress feels a bit like quicksand, while the Lucid Hybrid has a balanced feel. You’ll feel like you’re resting on top of the Lucid Hybrid and “inside” of the Lucid Memory Foam.

The Lucid Hybrid is a better choice for hot sleepers, because the coils allow room for airflow. The Lucid Memory foam might trap more body heat.

Who Should Get The Lucid Hybrid?

  • Hot sleepers
  • Fans of a balanced foam feel

Who Should Get The Lucid Memory Foam?

  • Fans of a quicksand feel
  • People who want to save some money

FAQs

Check out our FAQ section for even more valuable information!

How long will a Lucid mattress last?

Most mattresses last 7 - 10 years, but because the Lucid mattress has a simpler construction, we expect it to only last about 5-7 years.

Can you flip the Lucid mattresses?

No, neither of these Lucid mattresses are flippable. The memory foam option has a thick base layer at the bottom and a soft memory foam layer on top. If you flipped it, the mattress wouldn’t feel right. Similarly, the hybrid option is designed with coils at the bottom and foam on top. If you flipped it, the mattress wouldn’t feel comfortable.

What if I don’t like my Lucid mattress?

Lucid has a narrow return window. Make sure to file your return within the first 30 days of purchase if you’re unhappy with the mattress.

Gravatar for Elisa Regulski

Elisa Regulski

Elisa is the Editor of Mattress Clarity, where she analyzes sleep products and appears in review videos. A certified sleep science coach, Elisa's sleep tips have appeared in Readers Digest, Homes and Gardens, and 21 Oak. She earned a M.A in Mass Communication from Texas State University and a B.F.A in acting from Oklahoma City University.