Avocado Eco Organic vs Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Comparison – Which Is Best For You?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

If you’re shopping for a latex mattress, you’ve probably come across the Avocado Eco Organic and Saatva Latex Hybrid mattresses. They are both high-quality organic mattresses with a lot to offer, so it might be hard to choose.

Our Avocado Eco Organic vs Saatva Latex Hybrid mattress comparison could help make your decision an easy one. Read on to see which latex mattress is right for you!

Product
Firmness
Score
Avocado Eco Organic
Firm: 7.5/10
3.7/5
Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress
Firm: 7.5/10
4.2/5
Product
Avocado Eco Organic
Firmness
Firm: 7.5/10
Score
3.7/5
Product
Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress
Firmness
Firm: 7.5/10
Score
4.2/5

Avocado Eco Organic vs Saatva Latex Hybrid

When it comes to latex mattresses, Avocado has been at the head of the pack for quite a while now. They offer a variety of mattresses that feature all-natural materials sourced from all over the world. These materials aren’t the easiest to source, and this makes their mattresses a little pricey. That is not the case with the Avocado Eco Organic mattress, however. This is their most affordable mattress and is a great way to get an organic option for a value price.

Saatva is not known for its latex mattresses, but it is known for producing high-quality online mattresses. The Saatva Classic mattress is one of our all-time favorite innerspring beds, and we’re also fans of the memory foam Loom & Leaf. The Saatva Latex Hybrid is the brand’s foray into the world of latex hybrid mattresses, and it offers the same commitment to quality you find with other Saatva mattresses.

At first glance, these mattresses are very similar, but they do have their differences. Depending on factors like your body weight, preferred sleeping positions, and budget, the Avocado Eco Organic or Saatva Latex Hybrid will be a better match for you.

Who Should Get The Avocado Eco Organic?

  • Those who are looking for a more affordable mattress
  • Fans of firmer mattresses
  • Lightweight sleepers who don’t need as much support

Avocado Eco Organic

The Avocado Eco Organic is a budget-friendly mattress that's great for stomach sleepers. It has a firm feel, and it doesn't trap heat easily.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Avocado Eco Organic Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

365 Nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$699 - $1299

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5

Avocado Eco Organic

The Avocado Eco Organic is a budget-friendly mattress that's great for stomach sleepers. It has a firm feel, and it doesn't trap heat easily.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Avocado Eco Organic Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 Nights

Price Range

$699 - $1299

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5

Avocado Eco Organic

The Avocado Eco Organic is a budget-friendly mattress that's great for stomach sleepers. It has a firm feel, and it doesn't trap heat easily.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Avocado Eco Organic Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 Nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$699 - $1299

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5

Who Should Get The Saatva Latex Hybrid?

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is a luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support. 

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1245 - $2830

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is a luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support. 

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$1245 - $2830

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is a luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support. 

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$1245 - $2830

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review

Avocado Eco Organic vs Saatva Latex Hybrid Video Comparison

Want to see these two beds up close? Check out our video review below!

YouTube player

 

Similarities Between The Avocado Eco Organic And Saatva Latex Hybrid

There are a number of similarities between these two mattresses. Let’s go through them one by one:

  • They are both latex hybrid mattresses.
  • The Avocado Eco Organic and Saatva Latex Hybrid both feature coils in their construction.
  • Both mattresses contain organic, all-natural materials like latex and wool.
  • The Avocado and Saatva are great cooling mattresses.
  • They have a similar responsive, bouncy feel.

Avocado Eco Organic - featured

Differences Between The Avocado Eco Organic And Saatva Latex Hybrid

While they do look similar, there are some major differences between these two mattresses.

  • The Avocado Eco Organic costs significantly less than the Saatva Latex Hybrid.
  • The Saatva Latex Hybrid features different firmness zones, but the Avocado Eco Organic does not.
  • The Avocado Eco Organic feels a bit firmer than the Saatva Latex Hybrid.
  • The Saatva Latex Hybrid is thicker than the Avocado Eco Organic mattress.

A close shot of the Saatva Latex Hybrid on top of the Saatva Lineal base

Firmness and Feel Differences

You should also think about firmness and feel when you are comparing mattresses. Let’s see how these two mattresses stack up.

How Firm Are The Avocado Eco Organic And Saatva Latex Hybrid?

On a scale of 1-10, both mattresses felt like a 7.5. Since 6.5 is the industry standard for medium-firm, the Avocado Eco Organic and Saatva Latex Hybrid are both firmer-than-average. With both mattresses, the combination of coils and high-density latex foam don’t offer a lot of give.

That being said, the Avocado Eco Organic felt just a bit firmer to me. The top layer just doesn’t feel as plush as what I found on the Saatva Latex Hybrid.

Sleeping On The Avocado Eco Organic And Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattresses

Starting off back sleeping on the Avocado Eco Organic, I don’t feel the best balance of comfort and support. If you’re a back sleeper, you usually want to find a mattress that is close to medium-firm. The Avocado Eco Organic might just be too firm for you.

Avocado Eco Organic - back sleeping

This firmness also meant I did not feel very comfortable while side sleeping. I was definitely feeling some pressure on my shoulders and hips. If you’re a side sleeper, a soft mattress is a better choice, and the Avocado Eco Organic is pretty firm.

Being a firmer mattress, the Avocado Eco Organic is a great option for stomach sleeping. I am feeling good support under my hips and across my entire body. Firm mattresses are great for stomach sleeping, so this isn’t too surprising!

I feel much more comfortable while back sleeping on the Saatva Latex Hybrid mattress. While it is also firmer-than-average, the zoning makes the mattress feel softer under the shoulders and hips. I feel the perfect amount of support under my lumbar area while my hips can sink in the right amount.

Saatva Latex Hybrid - Back Sleeping

That zoning also provides some more pressure relief for my shoulders and hips. I wouldn’t say the mattress is ideal for side sleeping, but I do feel more comfortable than I felt on the Avocado Eco Organic mattress.

Stomach sleeping, I also feel well supported on the Saatva Latex Hybrid. The zoning provides support where I need it, and I don’t feel my hips sinking too far into the mattress.

What Do The Avocado Eco Organic And Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattresses Feel Like?

The Avocado Eco Organic and Saatva Latex Hybrid are both very responsive mattresses. Coils and latex provide a good deal of bounce, so it is very easy to move around on both mattresses.

Average Weight Sleepers – 130 lbs – 230 lbs

Average weight people who need a mattress for back sleepers will most likely prefer the Saatva Latex Hybrid, as it provides a better balance of comfort and support. The Avocado Eco Organic mattress might feel too firm for the majority of back sleepers in this weight range.

Side sleeping, most average weight people will feel better pressure relief on the Saatva Latex Hybrid. It is softer in the shoulder and hip areas, and should feel more comfortable than the Avocado Latex Hybrid.

Both mattresses should work for stomach sleepers who weigh less than 200 lbs. If you weigh more than this, you might want to go with the Saatva Latex Hybrid. The coils feel more supportive, and it is a more deluxe mattress overall.

Heavyweight Sleepers – Over 230 lbs

If you are a larger person, the Saatva Latex Hybrid is probably going to be better for you in all three positions. If you are just around 230 lbs, you could get enough support from the Avocado Eco Organic but, if you weigh more, the Saatva Latex Hybrid will be the right choice.

If you weigh over 300 lbs, you might want to consider one of our best mattresses for heavy people.

Lightweight Sleepers – Under 130 lbs

Lightweight people should get all the support they need from the Avocado Eco Organic, but the mattress could feel too firm for back and side sleeping. Stomach sleeping, it will be a perfect match for lightweight people.

The Saatva Latex Hybrid will be a better choice for back and side sleeping, but lightweight people who like something firmer could save money by going with the Avocado Eco Organic.

Mattress Construction Differences

Let’s pop the hood on the Avocado Eco Organic and Saatva Latex Hybrid to see exactly what is going on inside.

Cover

The Avocado Eco Organic and Saatva Latex Hybrid both boast organic cotton covers with a layer of wool beneath. The Saatva Latex Hybrid seems to contain more wool as the top feels plusher than the Avocado Eco Organic mattress.

Comfort Layers

The Avocado’s comfort layer contains all-natural latex that is bouncy, breathable, and durable. The Saatva Latex Hybrid also features all-natural latex, but this material is also separated into five zones. This provides varying levels of support and comfort across the mattress, making it feel firmer or softer depending on your sleeping position.

Support Layer

Both mattresses feature supportive coils, but the Saatva’s coils are also zoned. This makes the mattress feel firmer toward the center of the mattress, offering extra lumbar support.

Mattress Height

The Avocado Eco Organic is 10” tall, and the Saatva Latex Hybrid is 12” tall.

Avocado Eco Organic vs Saatva Latex Hybrid Size Options and Price

Check out the following charts for the most up to date information on size options and price.

Avocado Eco Organic

Size Dimensions Price
Twin 38" x 75" $699.00
Twin XL 38" x 80" $799.00
Full 54" x 75" $899.00
Queen 60" x 80" $999.00
King 76" x 80" $1299.00
California King 72" x 84" $1299.00

Saatva Latex Hybrid 

Size Dimensions Price
Twin 38" x 75" $1245.00
Twin XL 38" x 80" $1415.00
Full 54” x 75” $1845.00
Queen 60" x 80" $2045.00
King 76" x 80" $2445.00
California King 72" x 84" $2445.00

To see how the Avocado Eco Organic compares to other mattresses, make sure to read our Avocado Eco Organic vs Birch and Avocado Eco Organic vs Purple comparisons.

Avocado Eco Organic And Saatva Latex Hybrid Performance Differences

We put these mattresses to the test to see how they performed with regard to cooling, durability, and other criteria.

Sleeping Hot Or Cold

The Avocado and Saatva should sleep at about the same temperature. They are both latex hybrid mattresses, which are usually cool-sleeping mattresses. The natural latex shouldn’t trap body heat, and the coils should promote airflow through the mattress. You shouldn’t be sleeping hot on either mattress.

Motion Transfer

Unfortunately, latex mattresses don’t handle motion transfer particularly well. These two mattresses are bouncy and don’t absorb motion the way a memory foam bed might. Because of this, you could feel your partner move around on the other side of the mattress.

Edge Support

Edge support is important to think about if you want to utilize the full surface area of your mattress. A mattress with good edge support will allow you to sleep toward the edge of the mattress without falling off.

Saatva Latex Hybrid - Edge Support

The Avocado Eco Organic and Saatva Latex Hybrid both offer good edge support. I feel well supported when I am sitting and lying down near the edge of both mattresses.

Durability

Looking at these two mattresses, the Saatva Latex Hybrid is the more deluxe, high-end option. Based on its construction and materials, it could last longer than the Avocado Latex Hybrid. However, given that both mattresses feature durable latex, they should both last for at least 10 years.

Off-gassing

Unboxing these mattresses, I did not notice any chemical smells. They are both free of the harmful chemicals found in some bed-in-a-box mattresses, so this is not too surprising.

Noise

The Avocado Eco Organic and Saatva Latex Hybrid did not make too much noise when I was moving around on them. I would just note that coil mattresses might start to squeak after a few years.

Sex

If you want a great mattress for sex, bouncier is better. The Avocado and Saatva are indeed bouncy, and this should make it easier for sexual partners to move around.

Company Policies

It’s always a good idea to look at the fine print when comparing mattresses. Let’s do that now!

Warranty Info

The Avocado Eco Organic comes with a 10-year warranty, while the Saatva Latex Hybrid offers a 15-year warranty.

Sleep Trial

Avocado gives you 100 nights to try out their mattress. Saatva gives you more time, giving you 180 nights to see if the Saatva Latex Hybrid is right for you.

Return Policy

Avocado and Saatva offer free shipping and returns with all their mattresses.

FAQs

Finally, I’d like to answer some frequently asked questions about the Avocado Eco Organic and Saatva Latex Hybrid mattresses.

Which is better, the Avocado Eco Organic or Saatva Latex Hybrid?

We wouldn’t say one mattress is better than the other, but they are a better fit for different types of people. Lightweight people who like firmer mattresses will prefer the Avocado Eco Organic mattress. In addition, it is a more affordable option for budget-conscious shoppers. The Saatva Latex Hybrid should be better for heavier people and combination sleepers as well. Those who want something more luxurious should also like the Saatva Latex Hybrid.

How long will the Avocado Eco Organic and Saatva Latex Hybrid last?

Both mattresses should last for at least 10 years, but the Saatva Latex Hybrid should last for a bit longer. It is a more deluxe mattress and features a higher-end construction.

Can you flip the Avocado Eco Organic and Saatva Latex Hybrid?

No, you cannot flip these mattresses. They are only designed to function with the coils on the bottom and the latex and cotton covers on top.

Gravatar for Marten Carlson

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.