Casper vs Purple Mattress Comparison

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Choosing between all the bed in a box mattresses out there is no easy task. They all promise to be the most comfortable with the best materials, so who are we supposed to believe?

Well, out of the numerous mattresses we have reviewed, the Casper and Purple are two of the best. That being said, which mattress should people choose? Our full Casper vs Purple comparison will break down their similarities and differences and make it easy to pick one over the other! Make sure to check out our mattress comparison page for more Casper comparisons like Casper vs Nectar and Casper vs Casper Wave Hybrid.

Product
Firmness
Score
Casper Original Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
3.7/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.1/5
Product
Casper Original Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
3.7/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.1/5

Casper Vs Purple Mattress Overview

The Casper and Purple mattresses are two of the most comfortable and popular mattresses on the market, and they both boast a very interesting design. The Casper mattress features a Zoned Support system that offers more support or comfort depending on one’s sleeping position, and the Purple mattress features a gel grid that is unlike anything shoppers will find in other bed in a box mattresses.

The Casper and Purple both have a lot to offer, and they should both be a good, sound investment. However, they really are a better match for different types of sleepers. The Casper mattress is a better fit for people looking for a traditional foam mattress feel, while the Purple is better for people who need a more supportive and durable mattress.

Who Might Like the Casper? Who Might Like the Purple?
Those who prefer a mattress with a balanced foam feel that makes it easy to move around Heavier side sleepers who need great pressure relief and don’t want to bottom out on their mattress
Light- and medium-weight side sleepers who are looking for good pressure relief on their shoulders and hips Those who need the best mattress for stomach sleepers.
Back sleepers who require extra support under their lumbar area Sleepers who worry about sleeping hot during the night.

Casper Vs Purple Video Comparison

To see how the Casper and Purple look when placed next to each other, make sure to watch our in-depth video comparison:

YouTube player

 

Casper vs Purple: Similarities and Differences

The Casper and Purple look quite different on the outside, but there are still some similarities between the two. Let’s take a look at both the similarities and differences.

Similarities Differences
The Casper and Purple are two of the most popular mattresses on the bed-in-a-box market. Depending on someone’s weight, they might find the Casper and Purple mattresses to have a different firmness.
They both offer free shipping and returns. The Casper features a zoned construction that targets three ergonomic zones, but the Purple mattress does not.
Discounts aside, the Casper and Purple mattresses are very similar in terms of price. The mattresses feature very different comfort materials – the Casper has a responsive polyfoam on top, and the Purple has a gel grid.
They should both be two of the best mattresses for back sleepers. The mattresses have a very different feel – the Casper has more of a balanced foam feel, and the Purple has a squishy yet firm feel.
Both the Casper and Purple should be an excellent match for combination sleepers and those who switch positions at night. The Purple is more breathable than the Casper and should sleep cooler.
The Casper and Purple mattresses both feature a similar base foam support layer.

Firmness And Feel Differences

The Casper and Purple are quite different in regard to their firmness and feel. We’ll look at just how firm these mattresses are and how that will differ for people of different sizes.

How Firm Are The Casper And Purple Mattresses?

To us, the Casper mattress feels like a 7/10, just a bit firmer-than-average – the top polyfoam layer is quite soft as are the head and foot of the transition layer, but the support layer is very firm. However, because the mattress is firmer toward the center, the Casper will feel firmer and more supportive when back sleeping and stomach sleeping and softer when side sleeping. Also, larger people might feel like the Casper is even firmer as they push further into the mattress and feel the support layers beneath.

The Purple felt a bit softer to us, and we put it at a 6.5/10, about medium in terms of firmness. However, the firmness of this mattress will definitely depend on someone’s weight. Larger people will really activate that gel grid on top, and they should feel like the Purple is softer; lighter people might not be heavy enough to activate the gel grid, so the mattress could feel quite firm to them.

Sleeping On The Casper And Purple Mattresses

Back sleeping on the Casper, the mattress offers us the perfect balance of comfort and support, as our hips sink into the top foam layers, and the base foam holds up our bodies. The zoning in the transition layer also provides extra support under our lumbar area so, all in all, we feel fantastic while back sleeping.

Side sleeping on the Casper, we are feeling decent pressure on our shoulders and hips because the top polyfoam layer is soft and the transition layer is softer under the shoulder area.

Casper Mattress - Side Sleeping

Stomach sleeping, the Casper is too soft for us and, even with its Zoned Support system, the Casper is not providing us with enough support under our hips. We feel as if our hips are sinking in too far, and this could cause lower back strain over time.

Moving to the Purple, the mattress is also an exceptional fit for back sleeping. The gel grid only collapses under our butt and hips, and we feel the mattress support the rest of our bodies.

Side sleeping, we are also feeling some good pressure relief on our shoulders and hips because the gel grid collapses under those areas but nowhere else. However, as we will discuss below, this might feel different for lighter side sleepers.

Purple Mattress - Side Sleeping

Stomach sleeping, the Purple mattress does not collapse at all under our hips, and we feel good overall support. The Purple stays flat and supportive and it definitely feels firm enough for long-term stomach sleeping.

What Do The Casper And Purple Mattresses Feel Like?

The Casper mattress features a balanced foam feel and exhibits a fair amount of bounce. The polyfoam in the top layer is soft yet responsive, so we sink in but have no trouble moving around on the mattress.

The Purple has a very unique feel that is squishy and gel-like but also supportive and firm. The mattress stays flat and supportive until we apply enough pressure and then that specific area collapses.

Average Weight Sleepers – 130 lbs – 230 lbs

Back sleeping, average weight sleepers should feel comfortable and supported on the Casper mattress and, side sleeping, they should feel some good pressure relief on their shoulders and hips. Stomach sleepers who are closer to 130 lbs should get enough support on the Casper, but those who are closer to 230 lbs might need something firmer.

Back sleeping on the Purple, most average weight sleepers should find it to be a good fit, but those who are closer to 130 lbs might feel like the Purple doesn’t let their hips sink in far enough. Side sleepers who are closer to 230 lbs should collapse the gel grid and feel little pressure on their shoulders and hips but, if they are on the lighter side, they might feel like the mattress is too firm as their weight won’t be enough to activate the gel grid. Stomach sleeping, most average weight sleepers should feel well supported on the Purple.

Heavyweight Sleepers – Over 230 lbs

The majority of larger people should feel well supported when they are back sleeping on the Casper mattress, but those who are over 300 lbs might still need a mattress with coils in the support layer, such as the Casper Wave Hybrid. Side sleeping, most larger people are going to experience some significant pressure on their shoulders and hips and, stomach sleeping, they will also need a more supportive mattress.

Larger back sleepers should feel good support on the Purple mattress, but much larger back sleepers might want to consider the Purple Hybrid Premier mattress with coils. Side sleeping, larger people should feel little pressure on their shoulders and hips. Their weight will collapse that gel grid, and they should feel cradled by the mattress. Stomach sleeping, a good deal of heavier people should get enough support under their hips.

See our top picks for the best mattress for heavy people.

Lightweight Sleepers – Under 130 lbs

Back sleeping on the Casper, lightweight people will experience the proper balance of comfort and support. Side sleeping, they should feel little pressure on their shoulders and hips and, stomach sleeping, they should get enough support. The Casper is really one of the best mattresses for lightweight sleepers.

Back sleeping and side sleeping on the Purple, lighter people will most likely find the mattress to be too firm because their weight just might not be enough to put that gel grid to work. However, when lighter people are stomach sleeping, they should get enough support.

Product
Firmness
Score
Casper Original Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
3.7/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.1/5
Product
Casper Original Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
3.7/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.1/5

Mattress Construction Differences

Let’s look under the hood of both the Casper and Purple mattresses. We’ll focus on each layer one by one and see what the material differences are.

Casper

Layer Description
Cover The Casper features a soft cover that is made from recycled materials – it is knit, stretchy, and breathable.
Comfort Layer #1 The Casper features a layer of responsive polyfoam that contains AirScape technology – this means the foam is ventilated for more airflow.
Comfort Layer # 2 Below that, there is a layer of memory foam with Zoned Support where the center of the layer is firmer than the top and the bottom.
Support Layer #1 The Casper features a standard base foam in its support layer.

Purple

Layer Description
Cover The Purple has a SoftFlex cover that is also stretchy and breathable.
Comfort Layer #1 The Purple features a proprietary Purple Grid right that is made of something called hyper-elastic gel polymer and is durable, supportive, and also pressure relieving.
Comfort Layer #2 Below that, there is a layer of thick comfort foam.
Support Layer Purple also features a supportive base foam layer.

Mattress Height

The Casper is 11″ thick, and the Purple is 9.25″ thick.

Casper And Purple Mattress Size Options And Price

For the most up to date information on the Casper and Purple mattress size and prices, check out the following chart:

Casper

Size Dimensions Price
Twin 39" x 75" $995.00
Twin XL 39" x 80" $1145.00
Full 53" x 75" $1233.00
Queen 60" x 80" $1495.00
King 76" x 80" $1945.00
California King 72" x 84" $1945.00

Purple

Size Dimensions Price
Twin 38" x 75" $799.00
Twin XL 38" x 80" $999.00
Full 54” x 75” $1199.00
Queen 60" x 80" $1399.00
King 76" x 80" $1799.00
California King 72" x 84" $1799.00
Split King 76" 80" $1998.00

For more support, check out the Purple Ascent Adjustable Base and Casper Adjustable Base.

Product
Firmness
Score
Casper Original Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
3.7/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.1/5
Product
Casper Original Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
3.7/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.1/5

Casper Vs Purple Performance Differences

How do the Casper and Purple mattresses compare in terms of cooling, motion isolation, and other factors? To see how they compare to other brands, see our Casper mattress comparisons and Purple mattress comparisons.

Sleeping Hot Or Cold

Both the Casper and Purple feature cooling components – the Casper boasts Airscape technology and the Purple has a gel grid that promotes a great deal of airflow. However, between the two mattresses, the Purple should be the more breathable, cool-sleeping option.

If you want a cooler-sleeping Casper mattress, consider Casper Wave Hybrid Snow.

Motion Transfer

Memory foam is one of the best materials for cutting down on motion transfer and, while the Casper doesn’t feature memory foam right on top, it is in the second layer. Because of this, it seems to handle motion transfer better than the Purple and could be the best mattress for couples.

Casper Element Mattress - Motion Transfer

Edge Support

Edge support is also important for couples to consider because it allows each partner to sleep further apart without falling off the bed. Purple offers better edge support than the Casper, and we feel more supported when we sit and lie down near the edge of the mattress.

Durability

It is hard to tell which mattress is actually more durable but, based on our research, we would say the Purple wins out. It seems to be one of the most durable mattress materials we have come across and it should not sag the way some foams are known to do. Make sure to read our list of the best mattresses that won’t sag for more options like this.

Off-gassing

We experienced more off-gassing with the Casper mattress, and this is no surprise, as all-foam mattresses often let off a chemical smell when they are first unboxed. That being said, the smell did dissipate after 48 hours.

Noise

Moving around on both mattresses, we did not hear any sounds. Neither mattress features coils, which are known to squeak when they get older.

Sex

The Casper and Purple should both be good mattresses for sex because they are both responsive, bouncy, and make it easy to move around and change positions. These are all attributes that couples should be looking for in a mattress for sex.

Warranty Info

Both mattresses come with a 100-night sleep trial and a 10-year mattress warranty.

Product
Firmness
Score
Casper Original Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
3.7/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.1/5
Product
Casper Original Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
3.7/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.1/5

Casper And Purple Mattress FAQs

Which mattress is better, the Casper or the Purple?

We would not say that either mattress is better, but they are better for different types of people with different preferences. On the one hand, the Casper should be better for those who like a balanced foam feel, light- and medium-weight side sleepers, and back sleepers who need additional lumbar support. On the other, the Purple should be better for hot sleepers, stomach sleepers, and heavier side sleepers.

Which mattress sleeps cooler, the Casper or the Purple?

In our experience, the Purple sleeps cooler than the Casper mattress. Its gel grid allows for a great deal of airflow and makes for a cooler night of sleep.

Which mattress is more affordable, the Casper or the Purple?

The Casper and Purple mattresses are very close in terms of price. For a Queen-size they both cost around $1100.

Gravatar for Marten Carlson

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.