Amerisleep vs Tempurpedic: Which Is Best for You?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Amerisleep vs Tempurpedic are two companies known for their line of memory foam mattresses.  Tempurpedic created the memory foam mattress category back in the day and is the driving force for why memory foam is so popular today.

Amerisleep has been in business for a while now too and is really starting to pick up in popularity.  Many people are asking how these two companies compare to one another, so I thought I’d lay out some of my thoughts in this mattress comparison and help you if you are deciding Amerisleep vs Tempurpedic.

Amerisleep vs. Tempurpedic

Compare the Amerisleep and Tempurpedic mattresses below to see which may be best for you!
Product
Firmness
Score
Amerisleep AS3 Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.1/5
TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
3.6/5

Amerisleep vs. Tempurpedic

Compare the Amerisleep and Tempurpedic mattresses below to see which may be best for you!
Product
Amerisleep AS3 Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.1/5
Product
TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
3.6/5

Amerisleep vs Tempurpedic

Amerisleep vs. Tempurpedic Mattress Overview

Key Similarities

  • Both have memory foam mattresses (although Tempurpedic does also have a line with springs)
  • Both have a range of models for different types of sleepers
  • Both have been in business for more than just a couple years
  • Both have great company reputations

Key Differences

  • Tempurpedic has a higher price point for its models
  • Amerisleep has a couple unique aspects to the construction of its mattresses, namely bio-based foams and cooling technology in its cover
  • Consumers can try out Tempurpedic mattresses in stores, but they have to buy Amerisleep online
  • Amerisleep discloses all its specs, while Tempurpedic typically does not

Note: both mattresses rank well in my overall mattress reviews.

Construction Notes

While Tempurpedic does have a line with springs in the support layer, it is mainly known for its memory foam mattress line.  Amerisleep only has memory foam mattresses.  One major thing to note when looking at the construction of the mattresses from both companies is that Tempur-Pedic does not disclose the specs of its mattresses (while Amerisleep does).  That makes it a bit hard to make an objective comparison between the specs of the different mattresses.

It may also be helpful to see how the construction of these mattresses compare to other brands by reviewing our other Tempurpedic and Amerisleep mattress comparisons like Tempurpedic vs Tuft & Needle and Amerisleep vs Leesa.

You Might Want to Choose Tempurpedic If:

You Want a More Established Brand– Tempurpedic has been around forever and is essentially the company that created the memory foam mattress category.  People can have the benefit of reading customer reviews that span a very long time.

You Need to Try Out Your Mattress in a Store– I think the return policy of Amerisleep should alleviate any concerns about buying online, but if people feel they need to try out their mattress in a store ahead of buying, then Tempurpedic will allow you to do that.

You Want a Few Additional Model Options– Amerisleep currently has 5 models that cater to different types of sleepers.  Tempurpedic has more models than that, including one with springs in the support layer.

TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress

The Tempur-Cloud promises to provide the soft comfort consumers have come to expect from Tempur-Pedic mattresses, but for a more affordable price.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

90 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$1699 - $3398

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress

The Tempur-Cloud promises to provide the soft comfort consumers have come to expect from Tempur-Pedic mattresses, but for a more affordable price.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

90 nights

Price Range

$1699 - $3398

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress

The Tempur-Cloud promises to provide the soft comfort consumers have come to expect from Tempur-Pedic mattresses, but for a more affordable price.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

90 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1699 - $3398

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

You Might Want to Choose Amerisleep If:

You Want More Value– Given the different business models of the two companies and the resulting differences in prices, I think a lot of people would agree Amerisleep gives people more bang for their buck.

You Value Their Additional Features– Amerisleep mattresses feature Refresh Cooling Covers, which use far infrared technology.  People can read more about this technology and decide for themselves, but the claim is that it has a number of health benefits (I’m not a scientist so I can’t attest to this claim).  Amerisleep also uses bio-based, open-celled foams that make the mattresses much more breathable.  These features are unique, great extra touches that really make for a high-quality mattress.

You Want a Very Customer-Friendly Trial Period / Return Policy / Warranty– Amerisleep has a very good trial period, return policy, and warranty.  They really take all the risk out of buying one of their mattresses online.

Amerisleep AS3 Mattress

The Amerisleep AS3 is the brand's most popular model and offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Amerisleep AS3 Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$1149 - $2398

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS3 Mattress

The Amerisleep AS3 is the brand's most popular model and offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Amerisleep AS3 Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$1149 - $2398

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Amerisleep AS3 Mattress

The Amerisleep AS3 is the brand's most popular model and offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Amerisleep AS3 Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$1149 - $2398

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

See more on my full Amerisleep mattress reviews page.

Get the Highest Available Discount on Amerisleep HERE

Overall

I have always loved Tempurpedic mattresses whenever I get the chance to sleep on them.  They are the brand that everyone knows in this industry and for good reason too.  I do think the quality of Amerisleep mattresses is extremely high as well.  The fact that Amerisleep’s business model allows them to price their mattresses much lower than Tempur-Pedic for me is the deciding factor.

I think people could make arguments one way or another as to which line of mattresses is best for people, but the fact that the price is across the board so much lower is what tips the balance towards Amerisleep in my opinion.

Read our full Amerisleep review and Tempurpedic review

Summary

These are both very good companies.  They have a lot of similarities in the line of mattress models. Check out the key differences that I’ve laid out and the decision should be a little bit more clear.

Gravatar for Joe Auer

Joe Auer

Joe Auer is the editor of Mattress Clarity. He mainly focuses on mattress reviews and oversees the content across the site.

He likes things simple and take a straightforward, objective approach to his reviews. Joe has personally tested nearly 250 mattresses and always recommends people do their research before buying a new bed. He has been testing mattresses for over 5 years now, so he knows a thing or two when it comes to mattress selection. He has been cited as an authority in the industry by a number of large publications.

Joe has an undergraduate degree from Wake Forest University and an MBA from Columbia University.